It’d be great to focus on the recent New Jersey cannabis legalization. The state went the step, giving those suffering from many illnesses the freedom to smoke pot legally, allowing them to access it from a handful of dispensaries. But if this worked out amazingly in other states that legalized marijuana years ago, is there a reason it won’t do the same for New Jersey?
It’s no secret that New Jersey has been fighting to legalize cannabis for quite a while. And it looks like their efforts have paid off. To put it briefly, the new law makes New Jersey the 11th state to legalize recreational cannabis use for adults over 21.
A brief overview of the marijuana laws in New Jersey
New Jersey has recently passed a law to legalize 1 ounce of marijuana and 2 ounces of concentrate. However, there are still many other laws you should know.
- If you are 21 years of age with valid identification, you may possess 1 ounce of cannabis and 2 ounces of cannabis concentrate
- You may purchase 1 ounce of cannabis from a licensed dispensary
- If you are in a car, it is illegal for the marijuana to be in any container other than sealed, resealable, or airtight
- The legalization calls for a 25% tax on marijuana sales.
- It is legal to carry up to 2 ounces of marijuana if you are 21 or older. But you CANNOT consume it in public places
- Home growing is not allowed unless you have a cultivator’s license
- It is illegal to smoke or vape while driving
- Selling without a permit is illegal
- The penalties for possession of more than 6 ounces include a fine of 2,500 dollars and 18 months in jail, with a possible charge of 15 kg penalty.
Has New Jersey cashed in on the cannabis industry?
There is no doubt that New Jersey’s cannabis industry has enormous potential, but the key is whether it can deliver. The program doesn’t make sense for residents and tourists because there are too few stores, limited products available, and high prices. But as more stores get licensed, and more cannabis products come into the market, New Jersey will prove it has struck gold or taken a plunge.
The state’s program started slow, and progress has been uneven, but it is beginning to grow. By now, about 13 medical marijuana dispensaries are operating in five counties and selling medical cannabis products to patients and a few newly opened adult-use dispensaries in the same areas. The adult-use shops will gradually expand to include more than 100 additional retail licenses that have been granted across the rest of the state. So far, six other companies are in the late stages of the approval process and could begin operations shortly.
How much will I pay for legal weed in NJ?
Proposed marijuana taxes and fees in New Jersey range from 7% to 25%, depending on the product’s price. If you score an ounce for $350 or less, you will pay a 7% tax on top, which is about an extra $23. If you buy an ounce for $500, there’s a 12% tax on top, bringing your total to about an additional $67. If you’re wondering how much you’ll pay when cannabis becomes legal in New Jersey, keep these factors in mind.